Leaving Perugia in 15 minutes

We have said goodbye to everyone and everything.

So many gut-wrenching hugs, final words and last glances that we knew meant forever.

Not just with people, but places and our lifestyle.

Yesterday we woke up early just to make sure we could see it all for the last time.  We stopped by every store and street and piazza.  We had lunch at our favorite counter, La Bottega, where Geraldo made us a plate of Umbrian meats and cheeses and gave us a bag of dried sausages to eat on the way home.

I just can’t sum it up.  It’s been absolutely incredible.  Unforgettable.  Beautiful.  I don’t have the adequate words to express how in love I am with this city (and all of Italy) and how much I am going to miss it.

For their last day, we told the boys they could eat as much gelato as they wanted.  Tom finished 12 scoops

For their last day, we told the boys they could eat as much gelato as they wanted. Tom finished 12 scoops

11 thoughts on “Leaving Perugia in 15 minutes

  1. Safe travels home. We can’t wait to see you. Tell Tom we will take him for the latest thing here – frozen yogurt with all the toppings!

  2. Can’t wait to see you all in August! I really don’t like goodbye’s, because you don’t know when you will see that person or place again. When I said goodbye to you last year it was hard, but I knew I would see you again. I can’t believe it has been a whole year since I last saw you all. Have a safe trip and I look forward to the hello hugs! Love you guys!

  3. 12 scoops of gelato… Why that is the Deasy way to celebrate. From Gofredo to Wayne to Willie to Don to Tom… Nothing says “Life is good” better than ice cream or Italian gelato. Today I am flying from New York City to Seattle to attend a wedding and then to head to Olympia to watch Willis play baseball and to meet up with Amy and Andy and their families. We will have to stop at Dairy Queen for “Life is good”. Sending you much love in this transition. Anita

  4. Jill, I had the same response to your last post. It hardly seems the blink of an eye since Matt left, though I’m sure Joe would not agree! I hope your return transition is a joyful one. I hope you keep the blogs up for a month more.

  5. Dad and I are in the car driving to Seattle to wait for you at Sea Tac. We just couldn’t stay home knowing that we can welcome you back personally, after missing you for so long. Your wonderful blogs will be missed but know for sure we will never tire of listening to you recount stories and accounts of this year. Just a few more blogs please?

  6. Hello Jill. I cannot imagine spending a year of my life immersed in another land and culture as you have been able to. I would imagine you will have some culture and emotional shock as you transition back to the life you have at home. Be good to yourself as you move through that – I’ll wait to hear from you but would love to see you and the boys over the summer.
    Love,
    Jenny

Leave a Reply

