The Art of Cars (written by Oliver)

by guest blogger Oliver

Tom, Ray and me in Florence

Tom, Ray and me in Florence

Tonight is my last night with the Deasys here in Perugia.  My mom and I have been here for 10 days.  We landed in Rome and stayed in a room right next to the Pantheon.  I was pretty jet lagged that first day so I don’t remember much.  The next day, I got to choose where we’d go, and I decided we should see the Sistine Chapel.  It’s at the far end of the Vatican Museum so it was a super long walk.  We saw about 500 paintings and sculptures that day.  Just before we got to the end, we walked through a small gallery with some modern art and found a painting that looked just like my mom.

Even the other tourists around us were laughing.

Even the other tourists around us thought this was pretty funny.

Then we went to Florence and saw The David, climbed to the top of the Duomo, and crossed the Ponte Vecchio.  We also ate tons of gelato.  After two days, we took a train back to Perugia and have been here ever since.

We have seen many churches, museums, towers and old arches, but the best part about Italy is the cars!

Lately, I’ve been really into cars.  I read Dupont Registry  on the plane ride over and then when I got here, I saw some of my favorites in person.

The Fiat 500

One of the most popular cars in Italy is the Fiat 500.  The Fiat 500 is an affordable, four-cylinder car.  This car is popular because of its size.  It can fit through the small streets of Italy with ease.  This car gets good gas mileage, somewhere between 25 and 30 miles per gallon.  The final thing is that it is a little sporty, and you can make it look cool with a little work.  For everyday use, these are the best all-around cars.

The Fiat 500

The Fiat 500

The Ferrari

The Formula One Ferrari that I saw in Rome  has a 12-cylinder engine that pumps out speeds of over 200 mph.  It’s not just the big engine that makes it fast.  Most of it’s speed secrets lie in the aerodynamics and the material of the car.  It’s made of carbon fiber and aluminum.

We went to the Ferrari store in Rome.

We went to the Ferrari store in Rome.

The Maserati

This car is the most amazing car I’ve seen in Italy.  The Maserati Quattroporte is one of the first Maserati 4-doors (as its name states).  This is an 8-cylinder sedan coupe.  It is priced around $130,000.  This car is large and only gets around 15 miles per gallon, though, if you can buy this car then the gas money shouldn’t really be a problem.

We saw this Maserati near our hotel in Rome.

This was parked near our hotel in Rome.

The Fiat Punto

Yesterday I got to drive in a real Italian car when we took a day trip to Assisi.   We rented the Fiat Punto which is a cool, family style, sporty car equipped with manual transmission, like so many other cars in Italy.  It’s a medium-size car meant for five people, but we squeezed in six.   Also, I like the interior.  It has an easily accessable dash board and systems which make for comfortable, fast driving.  It was a good way to spend my last full day in Italy.

IMG_4143

I wish I could stay longer.  I told my mom and the Deasys that I would like to live here for the rest of the year with them.  I could eat hot chocolate and cream filled pastries every morning for breakfast.  Tom, Ray and I could all share a bedroom, and I could be in Tom’s class at school. I could even get a job here because Cristiano, the pasta man, taught me how to make cappelletti.  This has been a really fun trip.

IMG_4133

IMG_4096

Looking back on all the things we did and all the cars I saw, I still think the best part was hanging out with Tom and Ray.

Looking back on all the things we did and all the cars I saw, I still think the best part was hanging out with Tom and Ray.

4 thoughts on “The Art of Cars (written by Oliver)

  1. Oliver, You are a natural born blogger. Great read and very informative. What did I like best? The last picture. It summed it all up. Thank you. Grandpa John

  2. Thank-you Oliver for a fascinating blog. It’s the first time we’ve heard anything about the cars in Italy. You would look great behind the wheel of the Ferrari with a bowl of gelato on your lap. What’s the title of the portrait of your Mom in the gallery? That cracked me up. Thanks for the fun blog. No doubt, this was one of the best weeks for Ray and Tom in Perugia! from Gramma Carol

  3. Oliver, what a great blog…Frankie and I really enjoyed it. Know you will return to Italy some day to finish your great excursion….what a an excellent adventure with your Mom and amazing friends. FF wants to know if there was coconut gelato? Hugs, G’ma J.

  4. Here’s another Grandma Joan, and I really enjoy reading the blogs written by the boys\; you do a fine job, too, Jill and Matt. I also found the car details fascinating reading. Italy is a stupendous place, don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

