One Beer in “Perugia” (written by Tom, Jill’s uncle)

written by guest blogger Tom, Jill’s uncle

This is me

This is me.

I’m Jill’s uncle.  My wife and I live in Oregon on a hazelnut farm.  When Jill and Matt invited us to visit them during their year away from Seattle, we were honored.  Even though the price of gasoline had gotten pretty high and Pullman, Washington was a full day’s drive from our farm, we thought, why not?  It can’t be more boring than waiting for the leaves to fall.

The Deasy's met us on North Grand Avenue across the street from the Cordova Theater.

The Deasy’s met us on North Grand Avenue across the street from the Cordova Theater.

The Four Square Church folks are really sweet, and they let Jill use the old theater prop department down in the basement for her blog anytime she wants.  Right away, Tom and Ray were excited to give us a tour of the place, “Wait ’til you see the Moon Room!”  Turns out this is where NASA filmed Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin when they “landed” on the moon in 1969.  With a resource like The Cordova, Matt and Jill figured Pullman would be the perfect place to spend their year in “Perugia”.

Matt driving the "Moon Rover" on the set.  It's actually an Italian made ATV.  How ironic is that!?

Matt driving the “Moon Rover” on the set. It’s actually an Italian made ATV. How ironic is that!?

This is the apartment at 600 SW Crest View Street where we are staying with the Deasys.

This is the apartment at 426 NW Crestview Street where we are staying with the Deasys.

Good old apartment #25.  Heidi and I are renting their Bonus Room/Laundry Closet for the next three weeks which is a win-win because face it, there’s no money in farming, and Matt and Jill are unemployed for at least a year.

Check out the bathroom.  A shower, a tub AND a sink.

Check out the bathroom. A shower, a tub AND a sink.

This is a photo of the "Mediterranean" climate taken from inside the apartment of our "quiet" neighbors two doors down in #27.

This is a photo of the “Mediterranean” climate taken from inside the apartment of our “quiet” neighbors two doors down in #27.  They weren’t home; we were just looking around after the cops left.

After an Italian breakfast last Sunday, I went with Jill to the basement of the Cordova to watch her work on her blog.  She is amazing.  Her camera skills are only matched by the rabbits she pulls out of hats with Photoshop.  Look at what she did with the picture I took of her family in downtown Pullman.

Sunday afternoon in Piazza del Duomo

Sunday afternoon in Piazza del Duomo

Get a load of that caption!  It’s sounds so Italian it hurts.  It’s pure misdirection, like a good card trick.  You see the photo, you read that text and “fish on,” you’re hooked.

I’m just so proud to be Jill’s uncle, and I’m especially proud that she included me in her trip to Italy.  Here are the two of us at the Colosseum:

Nice

Nice

Thank you so much Matt, Jill, Tom and Ray for being the best neighbors in the world.  After the cops left.

7 thoughts on “One Beer in “Perugia” (written by Tom, Jill’s uncle)

  1. I’m really enjoying your blog, Jill, and I have often thought I would write a comment. However, after reading your uncle’s hilarious post, everything else is on hold (plus, I don’t think the scalloped potatoes in the oven are EVER going to get cooked). Anyway…
    I love your family including, now, your brother. You have a Tom–either because of or in spite of your brother–and I’m thinking of all of you now. Thanks for your many gifts to my family last year at this time. Every now and then I serve a breakfast that might come close to the ones that you served the Kristens–and I can make Dutch Babies, too.
    Remembering the Deasys and looking forward to seeing you again,
    Pam Burke, Stephanie’s Mom

  2. Wonderfully fun (and funny) post. Can only imagine how much fun you all are having together. So glad you can spend Christmas with family. Thinking of all of you and wishing you a very Merry Christmas! So fun to “see” your smiling face a few weeks ago. We miss you all.

  3. I loved this post. It was really funny. I like the pictures of our apartment in Pullman. I am so glad that we are not spending the year in Eastern Washington. I have really enjoyed spending time with Tom and Heidi

Leave a Reply

