Tips for a Red Eye

Stacia loves flying.  I hate it.  I always arrive with a headache, dry eyes, a sore neck.  So she gave me some useful advice before our trip this week.  I tried everything, and the flight went better than ever.  The first thing I said when we got off the plane was how quick and easy it seemed.  So here are her tips:

  1. Drink lots of water the day you leave.  And stay hydrated during the flight.
  2. Eat prunes.
  3. Avoid alcohol during the flight.
  4. Bring eyedrops.  Stacia recommends Opcon-A by Bausch and Lomb.
  5. Take two Advil during the first half of the trip.
  6. Get some sleep.

Everything seemed pretty straightforward except the last one; it’s nearly impossible to fall asleep while sitting nearly vertical.  Stacia’s solution:  bring a scarf.  When you are ready to nap, wrap the scarf around the back of your seat and tie it securely around your forehead.  This way, you can nod off with out nodding.  I tried it on both the flight to London and the connecting flight to Rome.  Awesome.  And the best part is that I didn’t look silly at all.   Thanks, Stacia.

3 thoughts on “Tips for a Red Eye

  1. Awesome. So glad to hear it worked – I’m totally trying it the next time I fly without kids (ooo, I just had an idea for a modification for kids: one scarf for their heads, one for their mouths…wait, that probably won’t fly with onlookers. Oh well 🙂 )

  2. I love it!! when you showed me your wonderful travel tips from Stacia I had no idea how great you’d look and how well it would work. Sorry to hear about the washing machine flood, what a crappy way to start but at least you have clean floors! 🙂 Alek has loved all the emails from Tom!! So fun to read your posts, can’t wait for the next one. Take care and hugs to all.

Leave a Reply

